Cannabis Market Reports - North Carolina

North Carolina Laws

Cannabis is decriminalized in North Carolina, although the state law is not as permissive as in other decrim states. Possession of a half-ounce or less is punishable by up to 30 days in jail, most likely suspended. Possession of more than a half-ounce is punishable by up to 120 days, with a possibility of community service or probation in lieu of jail. Possession greater than 1.5 ounces increases the penalties to up to 12 months in jail.

Despite the liberal leanings of cities like Ashville in the Smoky Mountains and the college towns in and around Raliegh/Durham, North Carolina is a southern Redneck State. Local law enforecment might not take too kindly to reefer smokers.

Back to North Carolina